Last Updated: Feb 08, 2022     Views: 2782

Borrowing History is a way to track all the physical items you check out from SFPL.

It does not track anything until you OPT IN. It cannot retroactively track anything you checked out before you opted in, but it will track everything you return from the moment you opt in, unless you opt out again. If you choose to opt out after activating Borrowing History, your record will be erased and you will not be able to retrieve it.

If you already opted in to the CHECK OUT HISTORY feature in the Classic catalog, you can import it to the Bibliocommons catalog. Your Check Out History will also remain as it always was in the Classic Catalog.

1. Log in to your Bibliocommons account, click your username (top right), and then click My Settings.

2. Under Account Preferences, click the slider to turn on your history.

3. You may have to log out and log back in to see the items transferred over from the Classic Catalog. Do NOT click disable after you have enabled it, unless you want to delete your list of checked out items entirely.

How to Use Borrowing History

  • Various sorting options for Borrowing History are available until you have 100 titles in your Borrowing History. Because the information isn't stored in your Bibliocommons account, it needs to be read from SFPL's system, sorted on the fly, and displayed each time you use it. As a result, it's not meant to be a permanent spot for all the items you want to keep track of.
  • You can move items from your Borrowing History to your Completed Shelf. Adding titles to a shelf is a permanent storage solution and provides you with more flexibility. In addition to sorting, you can exclude titles you don't want and filter the shelf, making it easier to find a specific title.